Rhubarb Turnovers.

Hi everyone!!

I can’t believe that we are already in October! It will be the holidays before we know it… although I am still waiting for the cold weather to finally be here! I have a feeling that I might be waiting a while. Well until then I guess that I can just bake fall goodies to try and convince myself that fall is finally here!

I am so excited to share this bake with you guys! This week I am going to be baking Rhubarb turnovers… now I know that technically rhubarb is not in season (which makes me very sad) but I feel like freshly baked warm pastry is a little more fall. Espcially when paired with a delicious hot caramel macchiato!

Growing up in England, I used to use a lot of rhubarb and gooseberries in my baking. Unfortunately both are almost impossible to find here, in fact I have never seen a gooseberry here… sad because they are so sweet and yummy! I got a little too excited when I managed to find frozen rhubarb at my local HEB… I may have bought 2 bags… or 3… maybe 4… I got a little carried away!

photo

Ingredients: 

1 pack – Sheet puff pastry

1 bag (approx. 2 cups/ 16 oz) – Frozen rhubarb (thawed and finely diced)

1/3 cup – White sugar

1/4 tspn – Ginger

1/2 cup – Butter

1 cup – Powdered sugar

Method:

– Gently mix together the thawed and finely diced rhubarb, ginger and sugar.

– Roll out your puff pastry sheet and cut into approximately 8 – 10 squares. Place these on a baking tray lined with parchment paper.

– Place a spoonful of your rhubarb mixture onto each square. Fold each square of pastry diagonally to create a triangle and firmly press the edges together using a fork.

photo

– Bake at 375º for about 20 minutes, or until golden brown.

– Just before they are ready make your glaze. Over low heat, melt your butter and then slowly add powdered sugar until you reach your desired consistency.

– Remove your turnovers and drizzle glaze immediately.

photo

I know that always say that baking makes me happy but I decided to see if it just me or if baking can actually affect someone mentally. I managed to come across this interesting article  at http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-23756645 that proves that baking truly does make you happy. It shows that baking allows people to gain some sort of control and allows them to feel more at peace with themselves… I love that!!

– Enjoy!!

Thanks for visiting!

-Charlotte.

Leave a Reply

